YEAR 2018-19


The Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) invites applications from the Indian as well as overseas nationals having Master’s degree in Agriculture and allied sciences for the Netaji Subhas-ICAR International Fellowships (NS-ICARIFs) for the year 2018-19. The NS- ICARIFs are available for pursuing doctoral degree in Agriculture and allied Sciences, in the identified priority areas, for study in the Indian Agricultural Universities (AUs) in the ICAR-AUs system. Thirty fellowships for duration of three years will be available.

Important aspects about the Programme:

The fellowship is named as “Netaji Subhas - ICAR International Fellowship (NS- ICARIF)” and the awardee will be called “NS-ICAR International Fellow”.


The NS-ICARIFs are available to Indian candidates as well as overseas candidates for a period of three years. The tenure of fellowship will not be extended in any case, in so far as the Council support is concerned. In case the fellow is not able to complete his/her degree during this period, he/she will use his/her own resources or completing the degree.

Number of Fellowships:

Number of fellowships available every year for a programme leading to Ph.D. degree under this scheme will be thirty (30). The allocation of fellowships between Indian and Overseas candidates will depend upon the availability of good candidates in the identified priority areas.


Eligibility :

Master’s degree in agriculture/allied sciences with an Overall Grade Point Average (OGPA) 6.60 out of 10.0 or 65% marks or equivalent will be the

eligibility requirement for the NS - ICARIFs.

The fresh candidates should not be more than 35 years of age on the last date prescribed for receipt of applications. The upper age limit for In-service candidates will be 40 years on the last date for receipt of applications.

The notification for fellowship will contain the detailed eligibility requirements.

Netaji Subhas- ICARIF would be available for both, fresh and in -service candidates. However, the fresh candidates should have completed

their qualifying degree not more than two years before the specified date in the year of admission.

The Council will identify and announce the priority areas of research and the list of institutions for admission, one year in advance, for availing the Netaji Subhas- ICAR IFs.


Mode of application:

The candidate should submit an application for the fellowship, on-line, in the prescribed format.

Detailed guidelines, priority areas of study and application proforma are available on ICAR website


Application should be submitted (one hard copy by post and one soft copy by email) to the Assistant Director General (EQR), Education Division, ICAR, KrishiAnusandhanBhavan II, Pusa, New Delhi-110012 (email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.).


Last date for receipt of application in the ICAR is June 15, 2018.